Recipe: Rib-Eye Steaks with Garbanzo & Green Bean Salad and Coleslaw with Radishes

Post by: Aleda

Hello dear readers, welcome to my very first recipe post.  I’ve been putting this off for weeks, insecure and shy to show the world how generally ill-prepared I am to complete any recipe in entirety in my kitchen.  Throughout this blog, you will see (and maybe sometimes get frustrated) that I rarely have measurements for my own recipes (I am going to try though, I promise!) and that when following the recipes of others I am ALWAYS lacking at least one out of five ingredients.  Always.  It’s not that I think I’m so awesome in the kitchen that I don’t need to follow instructions.  It’s usually the result of forgetting ingredients while shopping with two toddlers, planning meals last-minute, or because I can’t afford all of the listed ingredients but want to give it a good college try anyway.  So, please stay with me here, and know that I won’t post anything that doesn’t turn out to be delicious.  I solemnly swear.  Well, accounting for the fact that we have different pallets, I swear.

Below is a recipe for creating a whole meal: Rib-eye steaks, garbanzo & green bean salad, and coleslaw with radishes.    All three recipes are tweaked recipes from the August 2010 issue of Bon Appetit.  I will be tagging this post for meat eaters because of the rib-eye, but will also tag vegetarian for the coleslaw, and vegan for the garbanzo & green bean salad.  I know that to my dear vegetarian & vegan friends the steak end is unappealing to say the least, but the coleslaw is a great veg side and the green bean & garbanzo salad is deliciously vegan.  So here we go:

Rib-eye steaks:

2 12-ounce rib-eye steaks

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon mesquite seasoning – if you don’t have mesquite seasoning, which I didn’t, you can mix  sugar, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper, paprika & salt, which are most of the ingredients in mesquite seasoning.  It’s not quite the same, but it was so delicious that my meat-loving husband has requested the homemade version of the seasoning multiple times since.

Sprinkle the chili powder and mesquite seasoning, be it store bought or homemade, over both sides of the steaks, sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in skillet over medium heat, and add steaks to cook to desired doneness (5-6 minutes per side for medium-rare).

Garbanzo & Green Bean Salad:

1 8-ounce package trimmed haricots verts or trimmed slender green beans

2 15 or 16-ounce cans garbanzo beans rinsed & drained

1/2 chopped red onion

3 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/2 cup fresh cilantro

Cook haricots verts in large non-stick skillet of boiling salted water until crisp and tender, about 2-3 minutes.  Drain & transfer to large bowl.  Add garbanzos & onion.  Whisk 3 tablespoons olive oil & 3 tablespoons of red wine vinegar to blend, and add dressing to bean mixture, toss and coat.  Stir in cilantro & season with salt and pepper.

(Note: original recipe called for white wine vinegar instead of red, and 2 teaspoons of finely grated lemon peel to create dressing, neither of which I had on hand.  It was super delicious sans lemon and with red wine vinegar, but I’m sure the original version is also great.)

Coleslaw with Radish:

1 2-pound head of green cabbage, quartered, cored, cut crosswise into 1/8 inch thick slices (about 14 cups)

1 1/4 cups apple cider vinegar

1 cup sugar

1 cup grated radishes

1/4 cup mayonnaise

Place cabbage in a large bowl, add vinegar and sugar and toss to coat.  Cover and let stand for a half hour.  Toss cabbage mixture well again to re-coat and let stand another half hour.  Drain cabbage.  This step can be done well in advance if needed.  Transfer the drained cabbage to another large bowl and add radishes and mayo, toss to coat.  Season to with salt and pepper to taste.

(Note: this recipe was adapted from Jim ‘N Nicks Bar-B-Q recipe in Bon Appetit, which calls for carrots instead of radishes as well as four green onions.  I switched those ingredients out and went with radishes because my husband is allergic to the original ingredients.  He loves coleslaw but sadly could never eat it, until now.  The radishes provided a great consistency similar to carrots, and the coleslaw came out so well that we ate it in amounts comparable to a regular salad.  I’ve bested you carrot allergies!)

And here is the finished product:

The Finished Product

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

