Market Watch: Nams Village Farm

Post by: Aleda

Today on my marathon errand running tour de force down Metropolitan Avenue I finally stopped by Nams Village Farm in Queens to check out the produce.  Nams is located in Middle Village (or Maspeth, depending who you ask), which has an extraordinary amount of little mom & pop food stores from fruit & vegetable stands to Polish specialty stores to Italian delis, making it actually feasible  to go to four or five stores that are locally owned and internationally delicious to pick up a few days worth of groceries without having to walk more than a few blocks.  This is the kind of shopping that reaffirms that I will be a New York City lifer.

I like Nams.  The fruit was fresh but not overly ripe, they had fresh nuts for the baking, a decent selection of fresh herbs and root vegetables, a small cheese selection covering the basics, and European fruit juices.  It’s small, clean and quiet, and filled with older women perusing the produce, which to me is always a good sign because let’s face it, my generation doesn’t know how to feel a melon or judge an eggplant the way my grandmother’s does. I also liked the laid back vibe of the staff, I never once felt like my kids were being too obnoxious (which they totally were) or like I was taking too long or in the way, and the woman at the register was super sweet.

Nams carries all the produce basics as well as some surprises (see long squash to the left).  It’s a good spot if you’re just looking to pick up the fruit and vegetable items that you’d find in most any kitchen, and to see what in the stand might surprise you for an unexpected cooking adventure.  For the record, I did not have the courage to buy the long squash.  If you have an extensive recipe calling for a few or more uncommon pieces of produce, you’re better off going to a bigger store with international selection.   But for a laid back summer shopping trip, Nams does the trick.

Here is a pic of what I acquired for a mere $6: 3 grapefruits, 2 oranges, 1 giant garlic, 3 shallots, 1 green tomato, 1 large red bell pepper, and 1 vidalia onion that is literally the size of my toddler’s head.  Not too shabby if you ask me.

Nams Village Farm

7412 Metropolitan Ave, Queens

This entry was posted in Market Watch: Grocery Stores & Green Markets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

