Vegetarian Potato Leek Soup

Post By: Aleda

My lovely partner-in-blogging Kim and her husband recently got me a Cuisinart SmartStick Hand Blender for my birthday.  When they came over for New Year’s Eve I thought I should put it to good use and so set my sights on a lovely potato leek soup.  I love this soup.  It’s easy.  It’s filling.  The ingredients are few, simple and cheap. Who could ask for more in a soup?  Not me.

There are definitely variations to the recipe, which is always one of the great things about making soup, but I chose this super simple version from The Veggie Table:

Ingredients:

  • 2 T butter
  • ¾ pound leeks, washed and sliced (white and light green parts)
  • 1½ pounds potatoes, sliced or diced (peeling optional)
  • 2 c vegetable stock (can just use a 15oz can of ready made stock)
  • 2 c milk
  • 1 t salt
  • black pepper
  • ½ T parsley, chopped
  • Optional: my little add-on to the recipe was some shredded cheddar cheese, to taste.

How to cook it:

  • Sauté the leeks in butter over medium heat until limp, 8-10 minutes.
  • Add the potatoes and stock, bring to a boil, lower heat, partially cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are completely soft, about 30 minutes. If there isn’t enough liquid, add more stock, water, or milk,* ½ c at a time.
  • Stir in 2 c milk, salt, and pepper and simmer for 10 minutes.
  • You can serve the soup like this or put some or all of the soup in a blender or food processor for a smoother, heavier soup.
  • Garnish with additional pepper and parsley and serve.
  • May need salt & pepper to taste.

Aleda’s Note:  I added the fresh shredded cheddar immediately after blending the soup because I am a cheese glutton.  It was a good add, so good in fact that I added some more to my own bowl for garnish.   Also, if you can get a hand-held blender, I highly recommend it.  It makes cooking these types of soups among other things incredibly easy, and they aren’t overly expensive.  A definite great addition to any kitchen. Thanks Kim & Jon!

This meal was so good and so easy, and also reheated over the stove really well the next day for leftovers.  Enjoy!

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

